PERCoGS Symposium Series 2021

Next talk:

Thursday 15 July at 7pm EDT (6pm CDT, 4pm PDT)
Dr. Mary Chessey

Register online to attend this symposium

Excitement and challenge of postdoc life: Stories from joining the Living Physics Portal team

Physics Education Research is already interdisciplinary, but PER about Intro Physics for Life Sciences (IPLS) classes? Now things are just getting out of hand. The Living Physics Portal is a digital library of curricular materials created by physics and life sciences educators as part of an overall project that studies faculty’s thinking about IPLS classes and students. My role on the Living Physics Portal (livingphysicsportal.org) project as a postdoc was split between research and growing the community of Portal users by facilitating faculty working group discussions. As a newcomer to a large project team, I looked for ways to prioritize research and community goals with the potential to advance equity and inclusion while working with existing project scope, IRB approval, and previously collected data. I will share some stories about the tension of shifting research directions and the experience of other aspects of postdoc life. A few valuable strategies for making new friends quick in a short-term appointment will also be dished out.

Past talks:

October 20, 2020 - Dr. Katelyn Cooper (ASU)

November 19, 2020 - Dr. Miguel Rodriguez (Utah)

December 9, 2020 - Dr. Lisa Goodhew (SPU)

January 19, 2021 - Dr. Eric Kuo (UIUC)

April 28, 2021 - Dr. Brianne Gutmann (Texas State)

June 21, 2021 - Dr. Simone Hyater- Adams

You can view many of the past talks on the PERCoGS Youtube channel.